Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

· Resident Curmudgeon
13,390 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been a life-long cyclist. I started riding competitively when I was in my late teens. Safe to say I'm pretty experienced and know myself well. Nothing has changed e.g. nutrition, weight, overall health in the in the last couple of years, but I've noticed a definite decrease in stamina. My Md. says I'm doing great. I have a very thorough physical once per year.

Sat. was a perfect example of what I'm feeling. went on a 50 miler with the club. I felt fine. We had a good sized group including most of the fast guys. I started out with them, and as usual, the pack got fractured into 3 groups. I stayed with the 1st group with virtually no trouble at first. I had plenty of power for hills and a couple of sprints, as well as taking pulls into the wind. I definitely don't think I over did it. Then at the 30 mile mark, it felt like the bottom of my feet had 2 big corks in them, and suddenly somebody removed the corks and all the energy just drained out of my body. It wasn't bonk. I know very well what that feels like. I stopped for a rest & a drink at a gas station (it's the only thing I can afford there lately), and when the last (slowest) group came by I hopped on with them. It was all I could do just to keep in contact until we got back.

Well, I'm 65 now - will be 66 in Dec. I suppose I should be happy that I'm doing what I'm doing, but once you've competed at fairly high levels (cat 2) that sounds kind of defeatist. It's only been just this year and last year that I've noticed this. Besides age, anybody got any ideas of 1.) What might be the problem? or 2.) What can I do to fix it?

· Registered
714 Posts