Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I apologize if this is long and/or boring; I am having a hard time finding advice from a nonpartisan party. Figured I'd give this forum a shot...

I've been riding mountain bikes for the past, oh, 7 years or so. Although I do have one very old low-low-end road bike that I ride every so often, I now want to purchase a road bike that is entry-level but (theoretically) "race-ready," meaning primarily an aggressive non-touring frame that I can keep for a while and can grow with me if I want to upgrade.

I've been pretty impressed by the value of bikes in the $1500-$1800 range, where you can often get full Ultegra and a stellar set of wheels along with a nice frame.

So far the best value I've found (I think) is the Cannondale R1000, which has pretty sweet CAAD7 Optimo Si frame along with full Ultegra and my choice of either Mavic Cosmos or Ksyrium Elites ($1700-$1800). However, Trek (2200), Specialized (Allez Comp), Bianchi (Vigorelli), Giant (TCR), Lemond (Alpe d'Huez), and Litespeed (Capella) have some similar deals that I've ridden. I was just really taken with the Cannondale's frame (all of my bikes are/have been aluminum). Is it that clear-cut or am I missing something?

My other question is about Campagnolo vs. Shimano (which I know is a debate that can go on forever). I rode a couple of very nice Orbeas with lower-end Campy and liked the "feel" of the levers better than the Shimanos I tried out. But it seems like Ultegra is more in line with Centaur or even Chorus rather than Mirage or Veloce (which is what I'm finding at this price level). Is that accurate?

Anyway, I appreciate any help I can get. Thanks.

·
Registered
283 Posts
n-dawgg said:
I apologize if this is long and/or boring; I am having a hard time finding advice from a nonpartisan party. Figured I'd give this forum a shot...