Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
386 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anybody have any experience with the Ericksen seat post? I'm intrigued by the simplicity of the clamping system not to mention the ability to color coordinate with my bike.

http://kenteriksen.com/comp_seatpost.html

Thanks

·
Registered
366 Posts
I have no experience with them but have read some good reviews. It’s on my “like to have” list but I just sprung for a used Thomson for about ¼ of the price- the $150 difference between the two would go a long way towards more meaningful upgrades.

·
corning my own beef
5,713 Posts
They're beautiful posts (took a few pics at NAHBS) and I've heard good reviews. But I just cannot bring myself to lay out $200+ for a seat post.

·
Captain Obvious
11,876 Posts
i know people happy with his bikes, so i bet the seat posts are pretty good too.

·
Banned
3,060 Posts
Ericksen's stuff is nice. But if you don't need your post to be Ti others are using the same clamp design. Below is a Bontrager clamp which they use on every model (I think every model, I could be wrong.). I use the Bonti Aluminum Core Composite Race X Lite on my mountain bike. The clamp design allows for any angle, which is just like the Ericksen. The ACC set me back $100 compared to $218 for the similar length in an Ericksen.

Before anyone gets upity about carbon seatposts breaking I have some experience with that. Several years ago the Record Carbon post in my Seven broke well above the minimum insertion line. They warrantied it for the Ti version.