Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 80 Posts

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In a recent issue of Bicycling Pete Adeney (aka Mr. Money Mustache) said that "no one besides Tour de France riders need a bike that costs more than $1000." He says "the difference in the different rigid frame materials used in bikes is miniscule compared with the differences in tire size and pressure or the presence of suspension."

What are your thoughts?

I just ask for future reference because right now I'm just getting into road riding (at age 49) and am using a $300 2000 Gary Fisher Mamba mountain bike with Bontrager H2 26x1.5 tires put on it so I can be more comfortable on the road. I know eventually I'll be looking to move to a different type of bike and will be wondering how much I should really be putting into a bike.

Also, what do more expensive helmets offer that less costly helmets don't?

Obviously I'd think better protection for the skull, but how much better protection do you get in going from a $25 Bell Verge to a $45 Giro Revel to a $70 Giro Monza to a $135 Giro Ionos, etc.

Thank you very much for your help, advice, and thoughts!!!

TripleB

·
δanned
7,005 Posts
This topic has been beaten to death, and even then the horse is still getting flogged.

TL;DR: Buy whatever bike you want and/or can afford.

Usually it's more comfort, less weight, and better aerodynamics. It's certainly not more safety.

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
This topic has been beaten to death, and even then the horse is still getting flogged.

My apologies...pretty excited about getting into road cycling and get a bit over zealous with my questions!

Sorry about that!

I appreciate the information on helmets!

TripleB

·
'brifter' is f'ing stupid
15,563 Posts