Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can anyone offer their opinions on the duability and stiffness of these two wheelsets for a 220lb rider? Or is it pretty much a wash?

Which would you choose and why?

Tim.

·
The Bike Genie
222 Posts
Two totally different wheel sets. EA90SL are the EA90 SLX with a few more spokes thrown in to add lateral stiffness for larger riders or sprinters. The Ksyrium Elites are... well anvils. You couldn't break them with a hammer but they aren't much fun in the climbs. I was 230 when i started riding and i ride the EA90 SLX and have never broken a spoke or had to true the wheels. Needless to say you'd do great on ea90 sl. I have a set of Ksyrium SL3's on my race bike and I can attest to their quality, strength, and durability while remaining very light. Not to mention the Ea90 Sl are on a level with the ksyrium sl, not elite. hope that helps...

·
Registered
269 Posts
Elites are redesigned for 2009. Now only 1550 grams. Not super light but not boat anchors either. Here is the updated description:

"Product Description
1550 grams of pure technology. Forget what you know about the Ksyrium Elite, only the name remains the same. A radical reduction in weight and inertia will dramatically boost your accelerations and climbing performance.We have designed every single component with weight savings in mind while delivering the same proven Elite durability."

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the replies.

I didn't realize that last years Elites were so different (heavy). It looks like the 09 Elites are more like the Ksyrium SL's of a couple years back.

Considering that the new Elites are lighter, which wheels would you guys prefer?

Thanks,
Tim

·
Registered
269 Posts