Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
11,561 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is assuming the suicide bombers in Iraq today were Al Qaeda valid? What sect of Islam is Al Qaeda? Are they Sunni's, and that's why they've attacked the Shiite's on their holy day? Or are they Shiite's and figure who cares, we'll kill our own just to make the US look bad and what? Get the Shiite's to rise up, that doesn't seem to make sense. I don't see the primarily secular "old guard" of Bathist Sunni's having suicide bomber in their ranks to carry these kinds of attacks, but maybe?

·
Banned
6,360 Posts
Hard to evaluate in terms of our culture.

I'm not an expert on anything in that part of the world, but I have a neighbor who used to be with the CIA there, and a couple of my son's friends have just come back from infantry duty and provided an on-the-ground view. One thing they mentioned was that there's a different view of death there. Dying, especially suicide, is often considered a step to a better world--more strongly, they say, than the standard Christian platitude that the departed have "gone to a better place." Recruiting suicide bombers is easier there than in, say, Malibu.
There's also a tendency toward very strong religious beliefs, more so than most Christians (and maybe most Muslims, too--they're not ALL blowing themselves up). The ex-agent compared it to Timothy McVeigh's bombing of the federal building in Oklahoma: His beliefs were SO strong that he thought what he did was a fair trade-off to reach a goal. It seems horrible to us, but they operate under a different system.