Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
335 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a question... In the past it felt like I used to be a fairly competative cyclist. Lately however, I am on my bike and I am working way too hard and not getting much done... ( I can keep up with others in the group as long as I am drafting, but I can't pull for love or money) it feels like I am spinning my wheels and I am getting crushed. I then get off my bike and feel like I wasn't even trying. No soreness. No pain.... Nothing. I feel like I am eating respectable, and getting enough rest. I have a ton of base miles in. I am just trying to figure out why I am not getting any faster... so,

If you feel like you have a good amount of endurance built up, what is the best way to work on speed?

·
Registered
339 Posts
I'm no expert but isn't that what sprint intervals are for? So if you have a certain loop that you ride, designate part of that loop as a sprint zone, roll around the rest of the loop at a regular pace and then sprint through the zone, then use the rest of the lap to rebuild your energy and then spint again and so on. You can then slowly increase the size of your sprint zone as you get stronger/faster.

I am assuming of course that you are in an appropriate gear when you feel like you are spinning as otherwise yeah then that would kind of be a problem, that is kind of obvious though so I assume that isn't it.

·
Registered
484 Posts
Have you been overtraining or just spending too much time on the bike? You say that you have a ton of base miles. Maybe it would help to take week off and then start up again mixing in some sprints and intervals. Are you still excited to get out on the bike or do you feel like you're in a rut?

·
Registered
1,240 Posts