Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I am brand new to road bikes, but I have been around bikes my whole life, and am very mechanicly inclined. I am looking to purchase a road bike for comuting to and from work. I do not want to spend very much money, and I found a co-worker that has an 84-86 Peugeot that has not seen the light of day for atleast 15 years. It needs some maintance, and updates, and I think I can get it for a good price. Does $150 sound good? It is going to need atleast tires, tubes, pedals, seat, and handlebar wrap. It could also use all new cables.

One of my questions/concerns is the seat tube. It does not have a seat clamp, and there is just an allen bolt in the top of the seat post. I assume this means I cannot change out the seat post. Is there some way to retrofit a modern style seat post and clamp?

Second question- It is currently a 10 speed. If I were to install updated cassette, derailler, and shifters(would I even need shifters) could I convert it to a 12 speed or more? Are the wheel spacings the same for the different gear choices?

Is there anything that I should watch out for?

Thanks very much in advance, Jarrod

·
Registered
170 Posts
$150 seems a little high to me, but I haven't paid much attention to used Peugeots lately, so I could be wrong.
You'll likely have to put tires and tubes on any bike that age, so that's not a knock. Tubes are four to six dollars, tires from $12 to $50 or so. If they're 27-inch instead of 700c, you'd have a much more limited selection, but they're readily available.
Cables are cheap and easy, You could probably just pull the old ones out, grease and replace, but we're only talking five or six dollars, so you might as well replace them.