Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

· Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been commuting now for almost 3 months. My ride is 14 miles one way with 9 of the miles in a parkway with a very generous shoulder and only one intersection in the 9 mile stretch.
Yesterday, on the way home, I was riding into the "one" intersection when a women partially passed me on the left and then turned to the right directly in my path.
This intersection has a right turn lane to it, My travel lane goes straight so I usually pick my line along the white line of the lane going straight which would allow cars turning right to pass me on my right. Yesterday I think I may have been a foot or two right of the white line (which would still put me on the far left side of the right turn only lane).
I never saw the car as I approached the green light intersection until it was turning into me. I tried to make the unintended right turn with the vehicle but my front wheel and bars were being pushed hard to the right and I couldn't get them to turn any further because the wheel was biniding against the rear passenger door. I ended up sliding my left elbow and bars down the right rear of her car and then fell to pavement as I cleared her bumper. My first instinct after sliding to a stop was to get up and get out of the road so as to not be hit by traffic from behind.
The driver stopped about ten feet later (think she may have heard my loud obsenity and sure as hell must have heard the impact of me and the bike into the side of her car)
Her first words to me as I hauled me and my bike to the curb were "What are you going to do?" ... not "Are you all right" or anything of that nature. Luckily, my only injuries are three distinctly different sets of road rash on my left elbow. One from the car , one from the road, and the third? I have no idea.