Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, my names is Greg and I'm new to road bikes and I was just looking for a few answers on fitment.

But first some quick background:
The main purpose for the bike will be triathlons and introducing myself to riding. I've never owned anything but a GT Outpost Trail mountain bike. I'm 21 and into running (5 days a week, 20 - 40 miles a week average).

So back to the bikes.
I've been doing some research, and I understand it's all about "how you feel on the bike". Each company feels/measures differently etc. I'm looking for a bike in the ~700 range. I feel this is a price that will find me a quality used bike.

I am looking for a Cannondale. I like the way the older bikes look and I understand they have good frames. I completed the Wrench Science fit calculator, and received this information.

WS Recommended Sizes
Frame Size center-to-center: 56 cm
Frame Size center-to-top: 58 cm
Overall Reach: 66.86 cm
Saddle Height: 76.26 cm
Handlebar Width: 42 cm

Your Measurements
Height: 72.00 in
Sternum Notch: 59.50 in
Inseam Length: 34.00 in
Arm Length: 24.00 in
Shoulder Width: 16.00 in
Flexiblity: 8
Weight: 175.00 lbs
Foot Size: 10.50 USMens

So, here are the bikes I was looking at. Both are used frames, with after market components. They are built by a shop in Milwaukee, Wisconsin (the place is called bikemilwaukee.org). I really felt the owner was a straight forward guy. He knew my price range, but instead of sticking me on the most expensive bike that would fit, he put me on a bike he thought would fit me best, even though it was cheaper than what I was willing to spend. He seemed more concerned about getting me on a bike that fit, than getting me a bike at the top of my price range.

Anyways, here are the two bikes.

View attachment 125692
This is the first bike I looked at. It is $550.

Description:
"Cannondale R400
54cm center to center