Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

This is my first post though I've lurked around here for a while. I'm looking for my first road bike and I've researched and test-ridden quite a few bikes and I'm down to two bikes: The Scott CR1 Team (105) and the Cervelo Soloist Team (Ultegra).

The only test ride I did was a short loop around Central Park (west to east ad back). The Scott was a fine ride, but I actually give the edge to the Soloist. It seemed to be more stable and less twitchy even though the test unit I tried was a size larger (54, I'm a 52). It seemed a lot easier to pedal (maybe it's the components? the FSA crank?) and while it seemed a little heavier on the scale, it seemed to move a little easier than the CR1 once I'm actually on it.

My concern is comfort in longer rides. I plan to just do 1-hour work-outs as I am a beginner. But what about longer work-outs, possible races, and rides on roads harsher than Central Park?

It will be my first bike, and a cyclist friend of mine suggested that I skip aluminum and go to carbon for comfort. I trust his judgment of course since he seems to really know his stuff and he's been riding for a long time.

I might try the CR1 again and the Soloist Team (in my size next time).

Background on me: I'm 33 years old, 5'6" and 158lbs last time I checked. I'm a runner and I'm in ok shape (for my height, 158 is a bit heavy, but I did build some muscle in the gym though I could afford to lose some fat also :). My initial intention was to have a road bike for cross-training, but now I'm thinking of short duathlons in my future. Or at least, I'm getting more and more interested in cycling as a sport.

Thanks in advance for your opinion/advice!

·
Registered
34 Posts
Cervelo Soloist Team