Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Feel free to shake your head in pity, or contempt...

Well, spring is here enough to have some organized events, and the Sprint into Spring event was last Sunday here in Raleigh. There were 43 mile, 62 mile, and 100 mile routes. I started riding last August, and I've tried to work up my distance, and have done a metric century solo, and you hear so much about how much less effort a group ride is...I decide I'll do the century! I've only ridden on lines twice, once with a couple of guys over the winter for about 10 miles, and once with a guy for about 15 miles. This was my first organized ride, and first opportunity to try riding a real line, so I was pretty stoked.

I got there about 8:30 for a 9:00 start, everybody was warming up, getting prepped. I carried my paperwork over, talked politely with the lady taking the checks, said how it's my first ride and all...I overhear someone say "They're lining up", but I figure it's the racer types, there's plenty of time. I'm still making small talk, and someone says "He's explaining the rules"...I figure it's safety and common sense stuff...after all, it's not a race. Then, a whistle blows, and a herd of bicyclists are off!!! I'm so excited to be at my first organized ride, I totally lose track of time and miss the start! LESSON 1: be ready at the start, for the start.