Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Master Bike Mechanic
409 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm slowly getting stuff together for my first fixed gear bike. I'm just dipping my toes so to speak, seeing if I like it before I plop down the Money for a Redline 9*2*5.

I've been reading this forum since around last August, and even though I am a bike Mechanic I learn something new every day here.

The frame is a '70s Italian built lugged frame by the name of Ganna. I ran it last year as my beater geared bike but it has been replaced by Miyata One-Ten. It came with low end Campy and I loved the feel of the ride. I garbage picked it about three-four years ago before Kwame took away bulk trash disposal. First I took torch and file to it and removed the cable guides and kick-stand plate. This spring I stripped the frame and am in the process of painting it (If i can find my 2000 grit sand paper to put the final finish before I spray the Clear Coat.)

I plan on running Suzue Basic hubs (Yes I know they have horribly cheap bearings, weak threads and need greased before I build them up, but they're cheap and I still don't know If I'll like FG.). I am going to lace these up to a set of Wienneman double-wall semi-aero rims I'll get on the cheap from work since they've just been sitting there for 20 years. Since the BB is Italian threaded I'll have to order that and I plan on using Dura Ace cogs and Lock rings. I also got one of the Sun Tour XC Pro Headsets from GVH bikes for it. Everything else is going to be from my parts bin at home.

Here are some pics of the frame, yes I know the chrome on top and paint on bottom of the head lugs looks odd, but I think it is Unique, and yes I also know I need to tap the threads because I got a little too eager to start spraying Primer.

As for the Head badge, I cleaned it up from a rather Nasty picture I took of the real thing. If anybody can do a high quality single decal of it for me please PM me.

·
Travels by Map