Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Spicy Dumpling
9,723 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding my centurion ghetto SS for a few months on 20-30 mile rides but nothing longer. Someone in our club posted a 65 mile ride through some rather hilly country and I decided to give it a go on the SS. I dropped off the wheelset for my geared bike for truing so I couldn't change my mind. I was committed.

The ride is 65 miles from Buena Vista Va to the beautiful Goshen pass of the Maury River and back with a couple of moderate climbs and some good steep rollers. Around 5000 feet of climbing or so. Well I thought it would hurt, I was wrong. It really wasn't that much harder than using my geared bike, even on the climbs. We had a group of about 20 and for most of the ride I found myself out front unless we were on fast flats following a paceline. I'm no climber but having to stand and hammer up the hills just works out that you climb faster than people spinning up. It's over quickly and your at the top. I wasn't trying to go faster, it just happened. Every hill I dreaded was not as bad as feared. I did this ride soon after starting on the road a few years ago and remember it being much tougher with a triple. I think it's the training on the SS and the 15 lbs I've lost doing so that helped the most.

I got to the last dreaded climb which had a 200 yd section of 15+% according to our gadget guru on the ride. I barely made it with my triple a few years ago. I barely made it up this time even with a couple of zigzags but I made it. 3-4 folks walked it with triples!