Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking at wearing MTB shoes for road biking. Mainly b/c I don't want to slip around on tile floors or anything if I ever have to walk around. Also I hear they are more comfortable. I am a newbie to buying shoes and I have made a short list:

Sidi Bullet 2's: 139.99
Sidi Blaze (new for 06): 119.99
Shimano M121 94.99

I have big feet and wear a 50. . . does anyone have any suggestions.

·
Registered
65 Posts
Go with the Sidi's if you have wide feet. Look for replaceable heel pads. If you ride in the heat/wet you may want to look for more mesh and holes in the soles rather than leather. Sole stiffness is important for power transfer. I wear a 45 and have wide but not huge feet, and am happy with my Shimano R151 which you can find somewhere around your price point.

Cheers-

·
Banned
349 Posts
Try to find a shop where you have lots and lots of choices. Then try on lots of shoes and pay attention to fit.

Never fails to amaze me how I can get my foot into a shoe, or several but they don't really "fit" and after trying on maybe a dozen pairs I start to pare down the list of contenders.

Fit is essential in a shoe. Everything else is secondary.

I have a pair of cycling shoes with no cleats (circa 1990) for MTB and recreational riding. I can walk in them. I can't stand up very well in my road bike shoes. And so I think you comment about "walking around on tiles" makes sense.

Racing shoes are for racing. If you're recreational, you'd be best served by a shoe you can walk in.

·
Registered
5,347 Posts
sidi

The upper-end Sidi road and MTB shoes are available in regular and both wide ("Mega") and narrower versions. Almost no one stocks the narrow ones.