Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Rode in my first organized ride today--the Grizzly--which a part of the Grandfather Highland Games at Grandfather Mountain in North Carolina. The ride is 65 miles with 7000 feet of climbing. I've been riding a mountain bike for about two years now, but just got my road biike in early May--but climbing Beech Mountain has been one of my goals, and this ride brought us up the back side of Beech and down the front. My only goal was to finish!!! Despite heavy rain every day this week today was clear and dry. Well, less than two miles into the ride my rear tire flats--made me thankful for packing two tubes. All is well for the next 41 miles. I make it to the top of Beech--without stopping in the process--and I am pumped. A mile into the descent guess what--my rear tire blows. I do manage to hang on and pull over without going down, but my buddy is long gone down the road. While I fix the flat, I call my wife and have her come get me to take me down the last two miles of Beech where I will catch up with my partner. He is in a groove so he keeps going, some friends meet me there to give a hand pumping the tire up to pressure--and suddenly--it blows. We check the tire, one of them fetches a new tube from their car and we begin again--and it blows. Seems I need new rim tape!!! My day was finished. I accomplished my goal of climbing Beech but failed to finish, although I was feeling good and am certain I would have made it. DNF due to mechanical issues does not make me happy. And to add salt to the wound, I got grease all over my new jersey!!! Any cleaning suggestions?

Thanks for letting me rant a bit, and I have enjoyed lurking around since getting my road bike!

PJ

·
sometimereader
1,202 Posts
blowboat said:
We check the tire, one of them fetches a new tube from their car and we begin again--and it blows. Seems I need new rim tape!!!