Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
356 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Racers,
I've been riding for a few years and I'm signed up for my first race this weekend. It's a Cat5 (obviously) crit set for 20min+2...and I have no idea what to expect, so here come my quesions. First, what does "+2" mean? Do racers generally bring their trainers to warm up before the race starts? 20 mins is short...do you guys strip your bikes of water bottles, and other unncessary items for a crit if your crit bike is also your training, racing, recreational, etc bike? if you get lapped, are you out of the race?

of course, i don't plan to win or even to do that well...just finishing on 2 wheels is my goal. what else am i forgetting to ask?...i'm sure i will learn a lot come sunday.

thanks for any advice you can offer

G

·
Expect to get your but handed to you.

That's what happened to me when I did my first race. It was a 2.5 mile circuit, 10 laps. I got lapped on the fourth lap by a guy on a breakaway. To add insult to injury when he passed he told me to hook on. He was trying to be nice but all I could say was "If I could hook on, I wouldn't be in this position". I dropped out one lap later. What made me mad was that I dropped out at the start/finish right before the rest of the field was about to lap me and 5 other guys dropped out right after. They just didn't want to be the first ones.

Long story short, unless you've been racking up serious miles at a serious training pace...expect the worst.

·
Registered
4,808 Posts
gnauss said: