Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the forum and new to the road bike world. I have never riden a road bike until I took a couple of test rides at Performance and at another local Bike Shop. I am a disabled veteran and am looking to move into the road bike scee for recreational riding/fitness riding/and commuting. My goal is to get into good enough shape to make 50 mile round trip commute 3 days a week for fitness and economy. I am looking at this bike here:

Grips/Tape: Black Cork
Chain: CN-5600 10-speed
Saddle: Fizik Arione
Headset: FSA Sealed Bearing Internal
Frame: GTR Carbon Monocoque Frame
Pedals: NA
Rack Mounts: None
Fork: Ritchey Carbon Pro w/ Integrated dropout
Stem: Ritchey Logic Pro, 3D Net forged w/ Stainless Steel bolts, 4-bolt, 31.8mm clamp
Handlebar: Ritchey Logic Pro, Butted 7075 Aluminum w/ Anatomic bend, 31.8mm clamp
Seatpost: Ritchey Pro Carbon
Wheelset: Shimano 105 Wheelset w/ offset, heat treated Alloy rim and precision sealed hub w/ rear 10-speed cassette
Front Derailleur: SRAM Compact
Bottom Bracket: SRAM Outboard
Brakes: SRAM Rival
Levers: SRAM Rival
Rear Derailleur: SRAM Rival
Shifters: SRAM Rival 10-speed
Crankset: SRAM Rival Compact, 50/34T
Cassette: SRAM, 11/25T, 10-speed
Tires: Vittoria Rubino Pro

Is this a decent buy at $1900? I am familiar with mountain components but am completely clueless when it comes to road bikes. I would appreciate any comments you guys can give me, to include sugestions on alternate bikes and where to look at them.

Beau

· Registered
577 Posts
Thats a good bike. So are the other ones I see that perfomance has around the same price range... the schwinn and scattante. ride all of them and see what feels better.