Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

I am searching for my new first road bike. I am looking at a carbon frame/Ultegra groupset. I have looked at the following

Scott CR1 Pro
Specialized Roubaix
Giant Advanced Defy
Jamis Xenith Pro

Has anyone riden these? Or are there any other suggestions.

My background is having spent 6 years on flat bar road bikes. My current one is a Jamis Coda Elite (Steel with suspension seat post). Hence I am looking for a bike with good ride comfort and a slightly more upright position. My usual ride is about 100km on fairly flat terrain. I ride for fitness and enjoyment.

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
91 Posts
I suggest that you ride each of them and make a determination based on fit and feel. These bikes all have different feels to them and only you can decide which one feels the best to you. I don't know how to describe it, but when you take these test rides, one will usually call out to you. When that happens, grab it and run (after paying of course).

Todd

·
Cycling induced anoesis
13,006 Posts
Optomrider said:
Hi

I am searching for my new first road bike. I am looking at a carbon frame/Ultegra groupset. I have looked at the following

Scott CR1 Pro
Specialized Roubaix
Giant Advanced Defy
Jamis Xenith Pro

Has anyone riden these? Or are there any other suggestions.

My background is having spent 6 years on flat bar road bikes. My current one is a Jamis Coda Elite (Steel with suspension seat post). Hence I am looking for a bike with good ride comfort and a slightly more upright position. My usual ride is about 100km on fairly flat terrain. I ride for fitness and enjoyment.

Thanks in advance