Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Right now I'm looking for my first road bike. I come from a running background and I am going to be racing in a triathlon in a couple months and would like something better than my dad's old mountain bike. I am a senior in high school and looking for a bike around $150 and will probably use this bike in college as well. I am completely new to cycling and while I have done some research, I would like some help deciding what bike would be best. I figured my best bet would be to get a used bike off craigslist. I have narrowed it down to a few bikes but would really appreciate some help deciding. I am around 5'10/11 and have about 33 in inseam. Feel free to take a look at the dallas craigslist to see if there are any better bikes. Thanks ahead of time for all who answer!

Raleigh Technium 460- $140
(I like that it comes with cage pedals)
RALEIGH TECHNIUM 460 USA ROAD BIKE

Mercier- $160
Mercier Bicycle for Sale

Fila- $170
Vintage Steel Frame Fila Road Bike

Peugeot- $129
vintage french peugeot premier road bike

Vista Carrera- $160
Vista Carrera Road Bike

Maruishi RX-7 - $165
Maruishi RX-7

·
Registered
2,585 Posts
+1, you need to figure out frame size. the 60cm Mercier and the 53cm Raleigh are sized for drastically different height/proportioned people. This is going to be the most important part of your bike search.

that being said, I would avoid french steel. They ride wonderful, but require a good amount of hacking to overcome the wacky french hardware specs, or a search for NOS french sized parts that you will always pay a premium for. in short, they're a pain in the ass.

The raleigh would get my vote of the bikes you've listed, assuming that it fits.

·
Cycling induced anoesis
13,006 Posts