Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am just starting out on the road and I am thinking about jumping headlong into a Sprint TRI, however, not being sure if I am going to stick with it or not I do not want to sink a lot of $ into a road bike. I am seriously considering picking up (don't laugh) a Kent/GMC Denali 700C Road Bike at Amazon or Wal-Mart (believe it or not) and making some slight upgrades (levers and brake hoods). Anyone have any thoughts on this bike or one I should be looking at? Keep in mind we need a cross b/t quality and bottom $.

·
Bacon!
9,190 Posts
Definitely bottom dollar, very little quality. You would be far better looking at something used that is several years old sporting at least a tiagra groupo if not 105. The walmart bike comes in one size and not very upgradeable. I would avoid it like a dead skunk myself. Search Ebay and see what you can find in something that is 3-5 years old.

·
Registered
9,079 Posts
Ridgetop said:
Definitely bottom dollar, very little quality. You would be far better looking at something used that is several years old sporting at least a tiagra groupo if not 105. The walmart bike comes in one size and not very upgradeable. I would avoid it like a dead skunk myself. Search Ebay and see what you can find in something that is 3-5 years old.
He'd be better off with a 70's vintage steel bike with a chain so rusty that the bike won't move unless dropped off a bridge (my apologies to the retro crowd). Seriously though, buy a bike that almost fits at a garage sale for $50 and you will be far better off.

·
Registered
1,122 Posts
Big Bad John said:
He'd be better off with a 70's vintage steel bike with a chain so rusty that the bike won't move unless dropped off a bridge (my apologies to the retro crowd). Seriously though, buy a bike that almost fits at a garage sale for $50 and you will be far better off.

I agree....:)

·
Registered
17 Posts