Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
219 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'd like to head out his summer for a few shortish tours/bike camping trips. I've got no experience actually loading up a bike for a tour, though I think I have a good idea of what to bring/leave at home depending on the situations I'll put myself into.

My real question is about racks- I'd like to do this on the cheap, but reliability is also a concern (obviously). I've been looking at some cheapo racks and panniers on ebay and would like some opinions. Currently I think rear only should do the trick, but will entertain all possibilities if anyone has a suggestion otherwise.

Cheapo $8 rack The ad says its made of "Super heavy duty steel" which I interpret to be kinda light duty aluminum. With a claimed capacity of 55lb it should be plenty strong, no? I certainly won't be carrying that much baggage.

I've also looked at the Axiom, which seems to be higher quality and still inexpensive at ~$30. Recommendation from someone experienced?

Panniers for $35 These seem reasonably sized although light on the ruggedness/waterproofness. I can always ghetto waterproof by packing things in trashbags, opinions?

My plan is to pack reasonably light as I'll be in the mountains of Colorado where I reside. The tentative plan is to exit my garage, spend a threeish nights out on a couple hundred mile loop. Later in the summer hopefully something longer, perhaps 350mi to visit a friend in New Mexico then ride back...

By the way, the bike is all steel and hand built by me at UBI. Its got standard rear rack bosses- one above each dropout and above the canti bosses on the seat stays. I'm not terribly concerned about selecting what to pack- I'd hate to get out and realize that I'm having equipment failure. I've spent plenty of time as a bike mechanic to have no worries in that dept, I just want to select quality gear without breaking the bank.