Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
This is my first try at building a bike and I like how it turned out, it is three weeks old. I do have a problem with the setup in that the rear wheel has rubbed against the left side chainstay (see photo). The distance between the tire and chainstay is 1.5mm. I brought this up to the attention of my LBS. The service folks took pictures and consulted the powers at be and determined that the frame is defective. Gary Fisher will replace my frame for free and the great people at my LBS will labor all my parts over for free. I'm just bummed after all this hard work it came to that, but on the hand I'm happy with how I've been taken care of.

Components:
frame- 09' Gary Fisher Presidio 57cm
wheelset- Shimano Dura-ace 7850 SL running tubeless
tires- Hutchinson Bulldog tubeless
Crankset- Shimano Ultegra SL compact
Chainrings- FSA Pro 36/46
Cassette- Ultegra 11-27
shifters/derails- 09' SRAM Rival
headset- Chris King
BB- Chris King road BB
stem- Thompson X2
seatpost- Thompson elite
saddle- Specialized Toupe Gel
handlebar- FSA K-wing carbon
brakeset- 09' Avid Shorty
pedals- Crank Bros. eggbeaters

Ashamed to post how much I spent for the 19.8lbs of bike.

My questions are:
1) Is my tire rub issue a common occurance? What distance in millimeters should I expect to have between my new frame and tire?

2) Generally what do you think about my choices of components?

thanks for your constructive feedback!

·
Game on, b*tches!
13,467 Posts
What the Kitty said. And, that's a great looking bike. 1st I've seen.

·
eRacer
2,555 Posts
That is one terrific looking Bike.
I've ridden tires that close before. Just need to keep up on wheel staying true and centered.
Maybe skinnier tires.
Maybe Fisher could relieve your chainstays with an indentation. I have an old steel frame that is indented here to provide more tire room.
I'm just rambling. I hope things work out simply for you.