Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

A newbie here.
I got a 05 triple Allez (base) last year, and put just about 1000mi and enjoyed every one of it.

My bike still runs great, and can't really complain. I considered changing sora shifter to 105, but realizing that i have to change the whole drivetrain (sora is 8spd, looks like 105 is only 9 or 10spd), i decided to stick with the annoying thumb click downshifting sora.

I am thinking about upgrading my stock Alexrim, but i dont know what to look for or where to buy. But more importantly, people say upgrading wheels would improve bike dramatically - exactly what do they mean by that?

Any recommendations on economical, well-built wheels? and where to look for good online deals? nashbar has fsa wheel sets for 200$, what's your thoughts?

Thanks !

C.

· Registered
838 Posts
Unless you're actually having some trouble with the current wheels, save your money. Ride your current bike until it dies, or until you have at least 10,000 miles on it. Then buy a new bike. Then use your old bike as your beater.

· Could be faster
282 Posts
after doing about 780km on my Allez Sport 05 (double), i decided to upgrade the stock Alex AT400 wheelset for something better. did a bit of research and eventually went with the Campy Protons. best upgrade decision i ever made (well, other than buying the roubaix elite 06...sweet machine...). yeah, the wheelset definitely makes a difference. the campy protons rolls much smoother and faster than Alex AT400, and also much stiffer. i noticed a significant improvement in my ride times over fixed routes.

one word of warning about the campy protons: can be difficult to mount brand new tyres on, especially the Michelin Pro2 Race. but definitely worth the effort. after the initial install, the tyre will stretch so puncture repairs aren't too much of a drama.

boon

· Registered
339 Posts