Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, I have been riding for about 4 years. Lately I have been doing a lot of research about my first wheel upgrade, and I am hopeful that some of you all may be able to add to my process with some of your ideas or experiences.

First of all my main bike is a 2014 Felt Z5 which I like a lot. It still has the stock MAVIC CXP-22 wheel set with the stock Shimano 10 speed cassette. I live in the Central California foothills near Yosemite National Park and our roads range between hills and mountains, There is very little flat land unless we travel to the central valley which we sometimes do. The pavement condition varies from decent to poor. I am running Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick tires in 700x25 and I weigh around 180lbs.

The Mavic's have been trouble free, but I am suspecting that my climbing efforts around here will appreciate lighter wheels. My Mavic's weigh around 2100 grams bare, without tires/tubes, skewers, or cassette.

The two wheel sets that have my attention right now are;

1. Vuelta Corsa Superlite's which I would plan to buy on eBay from a seller I have seen recommended highly in this and other forums. (simplydeluxe) They claim to weigh around 1,500 grams and appear to be fine for my weight. They can be found for around $350-$400.

2. Reynolds Stratus Pro Road which Competitive Cyclist currently has on sale for $450. These weigh in at just under 1,500 grams so about equal to the Vuelta's.

What I am wondering is if anyone here has any thoughts for or against these two wheel sets, or if there is something else appropriate in the $500 +/- range that I should be considering.

Also, both wheel sets get good reviews so far as I can find and to me, both wheels look nice. I am curious if there are any compelling reasons to spend the extra on the Reynolds wheels?

Thank you, and I appreciate your input.

70Charger500

·
Registered
481 Posts