1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,326 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been using Time RXS pedals with centered float for the past two years
and have been plagued with medial knee tendonitis. I have had a partial medial
meniscotomy in the affected knee. With so much press on
the benefits of float for knees, I was reluctant to try anything else but desperation
forces my hand. I have ordered the new Dura-Ace 7810 with the red fixed cleat.
Does anyone have any personal experience or could there be any validity to
my theory that having my heels moving around is irritating knee stabilizing
tendons? I have already been professionally fitted and don't think trusting
my instincts alone is sufficient.

·
Registered
1,793 Posts
phoehn9111 said:
the benefits of float for knees, I was reluctant to try anything else but desperation
Yes . . . I can't use Time pedals either (too much float). I switched to the fixed look cleat and things cleared up. A little later I got a cross bike and tried the Time Atax . . . again my knees started to hurt, and I swithed to SPD, and to my surprise my knees don't hurt even with the rotation, It seems the side to side float got me for some reason.

·
chamois creme addict
1,479 Posts
Go gently

phoehn9111 said:
I use Time RXS as well, but I am used the float as I have used Time pedals for the past 12 or 13 years.

I would suggest that you first set up your D/A pedals using the yellow cleats to give you some wiggle-room. Get them set up so that when you are riding you are more or less in the middle of the float range (rotationally). Once you have that sorted out, then mount the red cleats in the same position as that will be your "preferred position"

Go easy on your first few rides with the new pedals/cleats. I have had one bad injury episode from switching shoes/pedals and going too hard/long too quickly.

·
Cycling Coach
1,734 Posts