Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
donuts?
8,945 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i can't ride for more than 30 minutes without getting numb toes...

so, i tried some NNC with the Specialized BG inserts in my SIDI 4's - holy crap that is 100 times worse. the inserts took all the toe box room away and in only 9 minutes my toes were numb.

maybe it's time to give up on the SIDI's and find something else?

·
p != b
2,303 Posts
sounds more like 'attempting to fix it' (and failing miserably) rather than 'fixing it'.

but I'm not a doctor, nor do I play one on the internet, so you'll have to take this as a completely uninformed opinion.

·
Moderatus Puisne
15,883 Posts
Sidis have a rather narrow 'toe box.' The non-mega are about what americans would call a "D" width.

They work great for me.

Look into Northwave -- they have a particularly wide toe box, but the arch is still "normal."

Also, keep in mind that if you already have something jacked up and aggravated, it's going to be a gradual process to make it feel better. Much like biting your tongue, when you've got something swollen and sore, it's only going to bash into things that much more.

·
gazing from the shadows
27,225 Posts
asciibaron said:
maybe it's time to give up on the SIDI's and find something else?

Probably.

But you can try dr. scholl's inserts... they used to make gel ones that were VERY thin and totally flat. They might help delay the problem, and if so, that might indicate a problem with the foot bed of the sidis. If it still takes 30 minutes, the problem might be on the TOP of the shoe.

Knowing that might help you pick a better shoe going forward.

But I have never seen the BG insoles, so take it fwiw.

·
All natural
367 Posts
I had a toe problem like yours. I ended up with specialized shoes. They have a roomy toe box.

·
donuts?
8,945 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·