Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,469 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
sorry, I am mathematically challenged.

I have a flipped up +8 degrees 100mm stem (BBB) on my 54cm Madone. Not sure what its HTA is in 54cm size (~73 or 73.5 degrees?). It's STA I think is ~74 or 73.75 degrees but I doubt it matters in this case.

Question: if I were to change nothing but flip the stem down to -8 degrees (same stem, 100mm) then how much lower would my bars be, in mm? 20mm? 25mm? 30mm?

I realise this would also effectively lengthen the stem by ~9mm. To compensate a little I was going to twist my bars/hoods a little bit upwards to be more in line with -8 degree stem angle (they are currently twisted a bit down with +8 stem). Would this help? I guess this would make my drops further out to reach?

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
1,469 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
HTA is 73 degrees

acid_rider said:
sorry, I am mathematically challenged.

I have a flipped up +8 degrees 100mm stem (BBB) on my 54cm Madone. Not sure what its HTA is in 54cm size (~73 or 73.5 degrees?). It's STA I think is ~74 or 73.75 degrees but I doubt it matters in this case.

Question: if I were to change nothing but flip the stem down to -8 degrees (same stem, 100mm) then how much lower would my bars be, in mm? 20mm? 25mm? 30mm?

I realise this would also effectively lengthen the stem by ~9mm. To compensate a little I was going to twist my bars/hoods a little bit upwards to be more in line with -8 degree stem angle (they are currently twisted a bit down with +8 stem). Would this help? I guess this would make my drops further out to reach?

Thanks in advance
More info: Madone geometry for 54cm size states HTA is = 73 degrees and STA is = 74 degrees. This is just in case this helps to figure out the bar height decrease although I don't see how it could given we are not changing the spacer set-up or stem in any way other than flip it from up to down angle.