Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

· Registered
2,771 Posts
i like stans sealant.
big jug goes a long ways.
i've even put some in some clincher tubes

not sure if the FMB's have a removeable valve core. You can't tell looking at your pair???
there should be a little flat spot on the smaller threaded portion that allows you to unscrew the core with some needle nose pliers

for non removeable cores... i take some sealant in a art and craft type syringe, use a small piece of flex plastic tubing and screw it onto the valve. (just took a tube to the hardware store to size it right) then gently squirt it into the tube.

· Registered
635 Posts
gregdogg62 said:
Hi All
I have an FMB tubie with a slow leak. What is the best sealant to be used in these tires? Also, I am new to tubies, do the FMB's have removable valve cores?

Thanks
How slow is your leak? Most likely the FMB's have latex tubes & they will lose pressure. Uusually its like 5 psi or so overnight, sometimes more/less.

· More Cowbell!
4,832 Posts
If you have FMBs, don't pour sealant in them. Replace the tube. There's a place in Florida that puts new tubes in tubies. I think you can even send them a tube. They use butyl but latex are better (what FMB and DeGast use). So find a latex tube of the correct size and send it down to them.

Perhaps someone can help out on what that re-tubing place is called?

Or you can learn how to replace your own tubes. I hear it's not too scary. You just have to be able to sew a little.

· Registered
217 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
DPCX said:
How slow is your leak? Most likely the FMB's have latex tubes & they will lose pressure. Uusually its like 5 psi or so overnight, sometimes more/less.
I thought it might be natural loss of air. I have a set and the one tire hardly loses any air, while the other will lose most of its air over a couple of weeks.

· Registered
269 Posts
Second on the Stan's sealant