Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, my name is Eric and I'm not new to the world of biking but I am new to the road bike scene, I come from a background of BMX and MTB riding, but have not done either in almost 10 years so............

My family (brother, mother, father) are all avid cyclists, and since my motorcycle wreck in late June and my knee injury/surgery that resulted from the wreck they have convinced me that getting back into cycling will be great recovery for my knee and my general health.

So below is what I purchased (don’t get too excited about telling me it’s not the best bike in the world, I already know it’s not) my plans are to use the bike for exercise and casual commuting/touring, and for that I think it is perfect. Its needs some fenders, and some lights and a hand full of other little things but all in all I am very happy with it.

Mercier Kilo WT5

·
Registered
212 Posts
Congrats on the bike! A motorcycle high-side last year convinced me I needed to spend more time on the bicycle and less on the motorcycle. Now most of my commutes are via bicycle and my knee injury is coming along nicely.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
sa7nt said:
Congrats on the bike! A motorcycle high-side last year convinced me I needed to spend more time on the bicycle and less on the motorcycle. Now most of my commutes are via bicycle and my knee injury is coming along nicely.
I will ride the motorcycle again, but it won’t be anytime soon. I am less than 4hrs out of a pretty extensive knee surgery, so it will be several weeks before I can even think about sitting on the new Mercier.

Anyone have any good recommendations for good commuting gear and any good sites that specifically cater to that type of riding.

·
Registered
586 Posts