Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am an old rider, that is, I have ridden bikes since about 1966 (I was 4 years old). As a teenager I had a couple of 10 speed road bikes. Later on, I moved on to mountain bikes. I haven't ridden in about 15 years, so I am basically new to bikes again.

I bought a nice new frame (I think it's nice) at the flea market for $20.

It is all aluminum with an integral headset, removable derailleur hanger, V-brake/canti mounts, nice paint, etc.

I know it's less expensive to get a complete bike, but I want to build this one up myself.

I have been looking around for parts, mostly on eBay and I have decided to go with 700c wheels and a flat bar setup with AVID Single Digit 7 brakes and Avid Speed Dial 7 brake levers. I also have a new Veloce 52/42 crank with Campy sealed BB.

I am having difficulty deciding what fork to get. I need a 1 1/8 theadless steer tube and bosses for the V-brakes. I would love carbon, but can't afford them. All other steel forks with brake bosses are almost in my price range (about $50).

Is this a good fork for the money?
https://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-700C-TOURI...ryZ56196QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

$20 plus shipping is a nice price for me, but I am afraid they are crap, as the saying goes, "you get what you pay for".

Does anyone know of a good fork for about $50 or $60 dollars? I wouldn't mind used if it was in good condition. I have checked the online classifieds in my area, but nothing.

Thanks for letting me ramble on and thanks for the info,
Ian

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
What about a Nashbar Steel 700c. It's only $40. I am a big guy, about 260lbs, will this hold up under my weight? By the way, I am not a racer or anything of the sort, I ride the road and trails in the woods near my house.

·
Registered
14,776 Posts