Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

· Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For starters, I have no experience as an owner of a carbon frame. Rode a few but never owned.

I am thinking about picking up a new frame for my long day in the saddle rides (not the after work hammerfest before dinner rides!). Two possibilities would be something like a Cervelo RS or having a custom steel frame made with some fairly light tubes. I'm still fairly fit at 50 yrs of age but after 60+ miles my back and neck start to hurt on my current ride, a Merlin TR. I love the ride of the ti frame but the short headtube and fairly steep seat tube angle feel a little rough after 3 hrs. A custom ti frame is more than I want to spend.

So what do you think? A custom steel frame (Strong, IF, etc.) or a frame in the category of the RS?

· Adorable Furry Hombre
32,547 Posts
Have you looked into Habanero Cycles? They can cook up a custom sized Ti frame for a little over $1k...and you'll have a name/warranty you can trust.

Otherwise I'd go with custom steel. Nothing beats a bike where you get everything the way you want it, rather than having to pick from what someone cubicle dweller chooses to offer in a given year.

· old school drop out
1,578 Posts
I'd go custom steel, just because I'd opt for that over just about anything. However, the bike's fit should matter most, and is way more important than what the frame is made from. Go with what fits you the best, which is almost always custom. ;)

· Registered
1,469 Posts
The material does not matter much - it is mostly about the geometry/fit for you. I am 50 also. I have a custom Titanium, fits me almost like a glove. The hard part is to find the cycle-fitter who will design custom geometry your body will like.