Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Never Give Up!
1,241 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok this is my first post... I'm fairly new to road biking but a long time mountain biker

I recently purchased a SCOTT Speedsteer S60 (may not make a difference or not) over the internet... after setting up the basics on bike and putting it on the trainer. The front derailer doesn't change spokets very well (came pre-installed). I have tried to make some adjustments my self but still can't get it work/line-up properly.

Has any one else had this happen to them when buying a bike over the internet or a SCOTT bike? is this just fluke and should I leave this type of work the my LBS to go over all the cabliing and dial it in correctly?

·
Never Give Up!
1,241 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks... I tried that last night when I made the adjustments my self. Thats where I may have sc#4%d it up even more.

·
Registered
1,929 Posts
It's more than likely a set up issue. Did you check that the clearance to the large ring is right (about a dime's worth) and that the deraileur is parallel to the rings? What kind is it? Double, Triple? What is the issue and what adjustments did you make? Does it seem to hesitate, but then shift or what? More info would help, altho the park site should be all you need.

b21

·
Never Give Up!
1,241 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I used a penny to adjust my clearance to large ring, seems ok . When I moved the deaileur parallel to the rings it dosen't move very smoothly, it would sometimes get jammed up (hesitate) moving from the middle ring to the larger, it's a triple ring.

When shifting from larger ring down, it jumps the middle and ends up on the bottom (smaller) ring