Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2005 OCR 1, Giant bike with a Shimano 105 front derailleur that I can't seem to get adjusted properly. Should I upgrade to a better derailleur? If so, what should I get? I am very new to cycling, actually this is my first bike. So I am lacking knowledge. Thanks.

·
Beetpull DeLite
12,749 Posts
Derailleurs are one of the most uselessly upgraded parts on a bicycle. Unless the thing simply won't move, or you can't stand to have 10 extra grams on your bike, there's not point in buying a new one.

Basically they're "dummy" parts, doing only what the shifter tells them to do. So if you're having problems it's likely to be an issue with the shifter, or it's simply not adjusted correctly. Maybe the clamp isn't adjusted correctly, and it's not parallel to the chainrings? The 105 group has fine parts, so I really doubt the part itself is the culprit.

What's it doing? Post some more info on how and when it's misbehaving, and we'll try to help. If that doesn't work, take it to a bike shop.

Welcome to both the website and cycling in general...I hope you enjoy both!

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
There seems to be a few different things going on with it. First, it seems that the chain always seems to be rubbing against the derailleur, second, when you shift the derailleur never seems to move the same way twice. Sometimes it shifts fine, other times you need to try to shift more than once for the chain to move at all. It is parallel. Not sure if the shift line, not sure of the actual name, is too loose, or too tight?

·
Beetpull DeLite
12,749 Posts
cyclegirl said: