Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,194 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I'm a relative newb, having only ridden for short periods of time over the years...though this time is for real! :blush2:

So yesterday, I'm 1/3 of the way through my 3 hr. ride plan and the first thing I notice is the chain jamming, then releasing through a backpedal, when I switched from the big ring to the small ring. No other issue, and kept riding.

Soon after, I noticed I could not shift back to the big ring. Also, while still on the small ring I could only use the biggest 4 cogs, as the rest of the smaller cogs produced horrible derailleur rub. Figured my ride plan was derailed and detoured over to the LBS where, after 2 minutes and $15, it was fixed.

Questions:
-- Is it common to have these derailleur adjustments needed mid-ride? I thought they would be more subtle, not immediate, and wouldn't ruin a ride...leaving time to get them adjusted.

-- The LBS tech wouldn't tell me what he did, I guess harboring his job security....only told me the cable was "too tight". So what kind of adjustment was the most likely thing he did? I will go read the Park Tool site, but have a feeling I will still be in a fog with the terminology and adjustment spots.

Thanks for any info!

·
Registered
284 Posts
Hi,

New bike?

It sounds as if either the derailleur wasn't tightly mounted and slipped....

Or, new cables (new bike or replacments on an older bike) often go through a break in period... sometimes referred to as "cable stretch", although it's not actually the cable stretching... it's the cable housing more fully seating in the various mounting points, but the results are the same... Time for a tune up.

Because it happened so suddenly and there was such severe cross chaining, I suspect the first situation... which would sort of point toward whoever assembled the bike initially.