Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just started riding a new road bike (aluminum; full ultegra). It was assembled and tuned by my LBS and everything seemed to be spot on except... When I stand up and pedal hard, the front wheel seems to be moving as I can hear it rubbing on both brake pads (this moves the front brake calipers off center). The wheels are brand new American Classic 420s and are supposed to be good. I'm on the bigger end at 6'4", 210lbs., but that shouldn't matter with good wheels that are tuned properly. Any ideas about the wheel problem? How do I keep my brake calipers from moving off center? Any help would be much appreciated! Thanks!

·
Administrator
12,942 Posts
Sadly this is likely your problem:

he wheels are brand new American Classic 420s and are supposed to be good. I'm on the bigger end at 6'4", 210lbs.,
Try another front wheel- something beefy. Borrow one for a quick spin. American Classic's not a great choice for powerful riders.

I am assuming the wheel is true, skewers are tight, brake pads have at least some clearance. Also, you may have a flexible fork, but my money on those wheels.

·
Banned forever.....or not
24,410 Posts
How close are the pads to the rim ? If the brake caliper nut is tightened down, the calipers shouldn't move.
Best thing would be to have your LBS look at it.

·
Registered
1,859 Posts
Flexy wheels

Lipton said:
The wheels are brand new American Classic 420s and are supposed to be good. I'm on the bigger end at 6'4", 210lbs., but that shouldn't matter with good wheels that are tuned properly. Any ideas about the wheel problem?
I agree with Coolhand - these are flexy wheels, and at your size and strength you are simply flexing them far enough to hit the brake pads.