Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay so here's the problem. I'm an amateur bike mechanic, have basically all the park tools I need to assemble and disassemble and maintain a bike. A coworker of my wife asked me to hook him up with clipless pedals and newer lever mounted shifters on his 10 year old cannondale R 400. Shifter conversion complete no probs.. but saving the easiest task for last (outside of teaching the guy how to ride clipless pedals) I went to remove the old toe clip mounted OEM pedals and got the non drive side off no probs.. but the drive side is frozen stiff. Tore up a perfectly good park pedal wrench and a 15mm Craftsman as well. Oh by the way I am attempting to turn the pedal in the correct direction. Two bike shop employees tried to remove it as well. Any thoughts on how to get this thing off?

·
Registered
677 Posts
Heat gun

Potential Roadkill said:
Okay so here's the problem. I'm an amateur bike mechanic, have basically all the park tools I need to assemble and disassemble and maintain a bike. A coworker of my wife asked me to hook him up with clipless pedals and newer lever mounted shifters on his 10 year old cannondale R 400. Shifter conversion complete no probs.. but saving the easiest task for last (outside of teaching the guy how to ride clipless pedals) I went to remove the old toe clip mounted OEM pedals and got the non drive side off no probs.. but the drive side is frozen stiff. Tore up a perfectly good park pedal wrench and a 15mm Craftsman as well. Oh by the way I am attempting to turn the pedal in the correct direction. Two bike shop employees tried to remove it as well. Any thoughts on how to get this thing off?
Try a heat gun, the aluminum crank arm will expand faster than the steel pedal axle. Other than that, some Liquid Wrench might also do the trick. HTH

·
Registered
453 Posts