Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Looks fast, rides slow
266 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I started training for my first century last month, and so far I've been able to keep myself fueled up on long rides with water, cytomax, and powergel/bar. But the longest ride I've done so far is only 40 miles (two and a half hours), so I was wondering if most riders can complete a century with just energy drinks, gels, and bars?

I have hard enough time eating powerbar during a ride, and I'm not sure if I'll be able to stomach real food like bagels and sandwiches at rest stops. So it would be great if I can go the distance just on energy food -- or better yet some kind of liquid nutrition.

K-Zero

·
Resident Curmudgeon
11,979 Posts
Personally I like bananas, raisins, dried apricots, etc. Not all together, LOL, but I usually take something like that. Bananas give you almost instant energy, have lots of potassium to help avoid cramps. They're also easy to carry & eat on the bike. You can throw the "wrappers" away because they're biodegradable. I also pack a couple of power bars. I've tried Cliff Bars & others, but I like power bars better. In my bottles I mix Gatorade & water 50/50. Again, I've tried many other drinks, but I like Gatorade the best.

This is based a lot on personal choice / taste. Your mileage may vary.

·
Registered
21,504 Posts
Practice real life

Unfortunately, what you experience over 40 miles will not have a lot of relationship to what you will experience over 100. You should try to do a 70 and see what works in that. Some people thrive on just energy drinks, while others find their gut tied up in knots after 50 miles. It's personal. I'm a big fan of fig bars (nearly pure carbs), mixed nuts (protein and good fats), and a Coke and some tasty cookies at the half-way-point break. I add 50/50 table salt and salt substitute to the fig bars for sodium and potassium replacement, and it works great for me.

·
Premium Member
10,106 Posts