Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
15,996 Posts
Um ... what do you want to know?

They are round. They have spokes.

Heh. They're Campagnolo, and by all reports more decent than some other inexpensive wheels. They cost more than a handbuilt that would offer similar performance, but look a lot prettier.

·
bike guy extraordinare
154 Posts
fulcrum wheels

very interesting, i was just going to post the same topic to see if any one knows about these wheels. such as; are they smooth, strong, dainty, durable that type of thing. there is no listing for them in the review section? what can you all tell us about them?

·
Registered
1,354 Posts
I have no experience with Fulcrum, but I do have plenty of experience with Campy pre-built wheels. Since you are talking about the 5s, I'll discuss Campy's lower-end wheels, the Ventos. My experience has been they are strong, and durable, and roll well. They are a bit on the heavy side, like the Fulcrum 5s.

I expect the 5s to be great wheels for the money. Here is the drawback: Campy and Fulcrum replacement rims and spokes are very expensive. I've been running Campy rims and spokes for years, and not needed to replace anything, fortunately. If I needed a new rim, it would be cheaper to buy a new wheel than to rebuild one of their lower-end wheels.

I bought my pair of 2006 Ventos from 11speed.com for under $190 for the pair including shipping to the U.S. Even if I did have to buy a new wheel, I could still use the old hub for spare parts and I wouldn't be out too much.

Handbuilts for the same price would be a good choice as well. Centaur or 105 hubs 14/15 db spokes, DT, Open Pro, or Velocity rims.

·
Registered
2,092 Posts
The Fulcrum 5's are Campy's direct competitor to Ksyrium Equipes.