Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Today I bought my 1st pair of road cycling shoes (ok really Tri shoes but whatever). So I get used to cliping in and clipping out and all is good for the 1st 5 miles... Then I was sitting at a light and look back and there is this smoking hot girl behind me... So what do I do? I completely screw up clipping into the pedals and look like a giant loser who doesn't know what he's doing. Then at the next light I'm going really really slow waiting for the light to turn and then can't get my right foot uncliped. So I fall down in slow mo. And this fat soccer mom who needs to find a gym ASAP is sitting there laughing at me. Again looking like a complete newb.

Besides that I LOVE THE SHOES/PEDALS I gained four miles an hour on average and now can cruise along at 20mph with no problems!

·
Registered
484 Posts
Well, unable to unclip on time and fall is bound to happen for going with clipless. Who knows it happened so soon for you. And it will probably happen a couple more times. I fell maybe four times in the exact situations like you were. This all happened within the first six months of going clipless. So far now, three years later, it hasn't happened again (knock on wood).

·
Two scoops of inertia.
530 Posts
Not that I want it to happen but since i got off of clips and straps I can't remember completely losing it when stopping. I might have unclipped and fallen to the other side once or twice.You get a lot of paranoia and quick reflexes with clips and deathstraps.

·
Registered
103 Posts