Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

· Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi guys, ive been riding for about 8 months now. I have a cateye on my bike now, but I want the option to store data and really keep track of whats going on while im riding. The reviews on the Garmin sound great and ive only found a few on the Polar, but it also sounds good. :mad2: I know this is a silly question here, but does anyone have an opinion or ideas. Thanks

· Collin's Dad
1,858 Posts
I have the Polar and while riding you can see (all at one time): speed, distance, cadence and heart rate. It does all the other average, max, blah blah blah. It'll store the data from 7 rides before it starts recording over the first ride if you haven't already downloaded the data. It doesn't record the data at specific time intervals or anything though that will allow you to go back and look at a ride like you may have seen some riders post here (a graphic that shows speed/HR/elevation/power/etc....).

I'm not familiar with the Garmin 305, but I'm pretty sure it's a GPS so that is definitely something the CS200 doesn't do.

· Registered
534 Posts
do a search for Garmin 305 on this forum, you will find a lot of happy users, myself included. There are only two shortcomings of the unit, battery is not replaceable (though there are a few external batteries that work) and there is no option to connect to a power meter, other than that, its a great unit.

· Registered
157 Posts
Back in the early days of GPS, I velcro'ed the new Garmin Legend to my stem for my bike computer. Now over 50 and riding more for fitness, I went with a 200cad and focus on HR & cadence. However, I still occasionally slip the little Garmin in my jersey pocket.