Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A few years ago, I realized that I wasn't getting any lighter and I was never going to get any younger. I got an upright exercise bike of CL and was able to drop 40 lbs over about six months. Long story short, I have a Diamondback Edgewood that has worked well over the last couple years for the occasional trip up north (to get my exercise in) or the occasional ride with my son around town, but this summer, I started riding on the road in earnest (I've started riding with a group and I'm the ONLY guy with flat bars and flat pedals) and think it's time for an upgrade.

For starters, the Edgewood came with a 14-34T 7-speed Shimano Megarange, and a 28-38-48 front gear and 700x40c wheels. But going up the biggest hill in my neighborhood (10% grade), dropping into that 34 tooth rear gear just felt like I was pedaling my but off an not going anywhere. And quite often on the flats or smaller hills, I felt the gearing just wasn't right for my cadence. So I got a 13-28T 7speed and that seemed to solve both the hill climbing and the cadence issues.

So, looking at new entry level road bikes, they pretty much all have a compact 34/50 front crank and 11-25, 11-28, 11-32 eight or nine speed rear cassette and that has me a bit concerned for the hills. To be fair, these days I'm not often dropping to 28/28 except on the really long hills or near the end of a long (for me) ride (up to 32 miles), but there are time and I worry that an 11-28T (which seems quite popular) may not be big enough on the rear.

Anyone go from a hybrid to a road bike? Should I be concerned about the different gearing? What were your experiences?

·
Cycling induced anoesis
13,006 Posts
Yours is a gearing question, not a hybrid to road bike question.

At a cadence of ~80, a 28/28 combo will net you 6.3 MPH. For comparison, a 34/32 will get you to 6.7 MPH.