Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

· Registered
257 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I couldn't really find anything like this in the forums.
What are some "general rules of thumb" for fitting on the bike?
I used to be a spinning instructor, so I know those, but are they difference for cycling.

I'm also a speedskating coach, so I'm pretty familiar with biomechanics.
I'm getting more advanced in cycling and it seems like the way they set me up in the store isn't aggressive enough. I feel like my hips should be higher, knees farther forward, and upper body lower. (basically more aero and more power).

What I'm looking for is what adjustment should be made and what effects they have?
also: how far over your foot should your knee be when legs are parallel to each to each other?
What angle should my knee be bent at, minimum, not exceed and the bottom of the pedal stroke?
Should I take a spacer out of my headset?
Should I get a longer stem?(I'm pretty short, 5'5" and riding a SM Specialized Tarmac comp)

I can pretty much figure it out if I get an answer to "Doing X to this part of the bike will do Z"

Thanks,

Craig

· waterproof*
41,745 Posts
That's a big ol can of worms you just opened. IMO the real best answer is "carefully experiment, read a lot of opinions, and figure it out yourself"

All the rules of thumb are starting points. And the in-store fitting is usuall sub-optimal if not downright wrong.

Also keep in mind your most powerful position will not be your most comfortable position; you get to choose the compromise.

IMO the critical pieces for power are seat height, and seat fore-aft relation to pedal, and foot placement on pedal.

Handlebar reach/height is primarily a comfort vs style / aero decision, although it can affect handling and power production as well.