Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, so I've been doing mtb for a few years now. But recently I've been riding around the town and I'm also thinking of doing some distance riding (20-40 miles), some gravel.

With being new to roads, would a flat bar road/hybrid be in to use, or should I buy a drop bar?

The two I'm considering is:
Colnago Impact - hybrid
Felt V85 - adventure

I'm thinking with the hybrid, a different set of tires should do me fine for gravel.

·
Registered
1,449 Posts
I wouldn't buy a hybrid. If you want to ride a flat bar on the road, get slicks for your mtb.

Wrt the felt, i would not buy a bike with cable actuated disc brakes. Hydraulic discs or normal rim brakes.

Ymmv.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I wouldn't buy a hybrid. If you want to ride a flat bar on the road, get slicks for your mtb.

Wrt the felt, i would not buy a bike with cable actuated disc brakes. Hydraulic discs or normal rim brakes.

Ymmv.
What's wrong with hybrid on roads though?

The diverge is popular and is mechanical disc, that gets good reviews.

·
Registered
5,374 Posts
You may change your mind after riding one a while. I wouldn't invest a lot of money in a hybrid before you ride one a while, there are a lot of them available second hand.
A friend had one, then went to upright trek, then race cervelo, then race tarmac. It just depends on what your target ends up being.
Riding a MUT or group rides. On a spirited group ride you may not be able to keep up.

·
Registered
1,449 Posts
What's wrong with hybrid on roads though? They are a compromise. As such, they don't do anything well. You already have a flat bar bike. No reason to spend money on another one. Want a road bike, buy a road bike (cx, "gravel", "endurance", etc.).