Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My LBS has a lightly used (2008?) OCR 1 for $899. They also have a 2011 Defy 3 for $749. Which one is the better value bike? I like the nicer components on the OCR 1 but have read so many good things about the new Defy 3 frame.

I'm new to road biking and will be coming from a Marin Kentfield hybrid. I'd like to get into cycling and would love to eventually work my way up to 30-50 mile rides. I'm looking for something that's comfy but fast.

I test rode the Defy 3 and will be going back next week for the OCR 1.

·
Cycling induced anoesis
13,006 Posts
djpfine said:
My LBS has a lightly used (2008?) OCR 1 for $899. They also have a 2011 Defy 3 for $749. Which one is the better value bike? I like the nicer components on the OCR 1 but have read so many good things about the new Defy 3 frame.

I'm new to road biking and will be coming from a Marin Kentfield hybrid. I'd like to get into cycling and would love to eventually work my way up to 30-50 mile rides. I'm looking for something that's comfy but fast.

I test rode the Defy 3 and will be going back next week for the OCR 1.
If by 'used' you mean there's no warranty offered on the OCR1, I'd take a pass. But if it's just a demo or floor model with warranty, then test ride it and the Defy back to back and decide from there. The one that fits/ feels, rides and handles best, wins.

·
Resident Curmudgeon
11,980 Posts
The defy is a slightly more laid back bike. The geometry is more suited to longer rides, a little softer ride, and the handling is more neutral. The OCR1 is a more dedicated short distance race bike. It's more responsive, handles faster, climbs better, and rides quite hard. The position on the OCR1 is also more aero or lower & more racer like. The defy certainly isn't a sit up straight bike but again, it's more relaxed than the OCR1.

·
Registered
151 Posts