Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to road biking, and I'm wondering which is bike is better for the money? Here are the prices at the local shop around my area

Rapid 3 (flat handlebar) is around $520

Defy 3 (drop down handlebar) is around $720

which bike would you recommend for a novice rider? Thanks.

·
Registered
222 Posts
Didn't really include anything for us to make a determination on... How far do you plan to ride, do you ever plan to race, do you want to take it on unpaved trails, yada yada... but in general it'll come down to which feels more comfortable and if you like the road style handlebars.

·
Registered
27 Posts
You definitely need to determine what type of riding your going to be doing. As for my experience, i was new to the sport two yrs ago and coming off of a knee surgery. I wasn't sure that I would really get into cycling or not so I purchased a giant Rapid for my first bike. Mainly b/c of pricing. I absolutely loved the bike. Thought it was comfortable, more upright position than a true roadie, and yet fast enough to hang on a group ride. It took me 500 miles to get addicted to the sport, sold my rapid and bought a true roadie. In my case i wasn't willing to dish out 2k for a bike until I knew that I really wanted to do this. I was very happy with the rapid as a first bike. They are very similar bikes. Best advise would be to test ride both and see which has a better fit and feel.

Good luck and Cheers!

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
the biking I do will certainly not be for competitive reasons, just for cardio exercise around the beach, park, lake, etc.. I just want a good road bike upgrade from my mountain bike. Thanks!

·
Registered
27 Posts