Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2,274 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm no expert fan of pro cycling. But I have followed the tour (casually) with interest for many years, and this year, I've been keeping up with the Giro via the net and the VS coverage on Sundays (via my dvr).

These two grand tours seem similar, but I get a different "vibe" from the Italian race..A little more of a race in Italy, somewhat more about putting the riders onto really difficult stages and getting the best possible teams to come race. The Giro seems a bit less "full of itself" if that makes any sense.. The French race seems more nationalistic and the course seems a little more refined..if you can call some 20+ days on a bike "refined".

What say you all? Which is the better race/happening/event? Why? If you had the time and money, which route would you most like to ride with your racing buddies?

How come Euro RVs are so much smaller than the behemoths we see here in the USA? never mind that last..
Don Hanson

·
Lemur-ing
19,208 Posts
First off, the Giro is a highly regarded cycling spectacle for sure but it's more favored by Italian riders to an extent with some of these riders never even going for it at the Tour.

At Le Tour, it would always be the most famous cycling race ever, it would always be 'the one' and the most coveted by general classification guys so to speak.

Also, some riders use the Giro as a warm up for the Tour and drop out half way or something like that.

As far as the RVs go, err, the roads up the mountains are narrow so you need a small one? : )

·
Registered
111 Posts
Gnarly 928 said:
I'm no expert fan of pro cycling. But I have followed the tour (casually) with interest for many years, and this year, I've been keeping up with the Giro via the net and the VS coverage on Sundays (via my dvr).