Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just started riding folliwng the winter thaw and the road shoulders around here are laden with slivers of glass, lots of which is impossible to avoid, much less see unless the light is shining just right. Tonight, altough it has never happened before, my FRONT tire flatted due to a sliver of glass.

The risk of a flat is really starting to take the fun out of my rides as I don't have much time to enjoy the bike.

My bike came with Michelin Pro 2s, which I understand are reasonably resistant. Anybody have any other suggestions (concerning tubes or even alternative tires) to reduce the chance of inadvertently hitting glass, etc?

Any thoughts appreciated.

·
Big is relative
11,887 Posts
stihl said:
Wiping tires do not work.

Armadillo's will do the job.
Second the armadillos. My commuter has fenders so wiping wasn't really an option. I never had much luck with wiping my tires anyway. Knock on wood, I have yet to have a glass flat on my armadillos. The only flats I have had were due to thorns. These were big thorns that would have gone through a tuffy as well. The thing about glass is this, it will embed in your tire and eventually work its way through the casing. To minimize this, once a week deflate your tires and go over them under a good light while pinching the tire. When you see a piece of glass in the tread, flip it out. I use an old screwdriver that I filed down but you could use anything with a point. The tread may have a cut due to the glass, but as long as the casing is intact it is just cosmetic.

·
Banned
Bianchi Nuovo Alloro, Lemond Etape
2,299 Posts
Bontrager Race Lite Hard Case - same deal as armadillos, with a layer of kevlar, but I think the bontragers have a nicer ride.

·
Registered
4,103 Posts