Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A friend, who was a very talented racer in his day, suggested going to a wider handelbar to "open me up" a bit.
I've heard or read this somewhere else as well.

Is there any credence to this?

I'm considering new road bars. I have been using a 42 c-c for a few years. Would a 44 c-c be all that different and or beneficial?

Also wouldn't using a being wider bar create more wind resistence because of a wider arm spread?

·
RoadBikeReview Member
162 Posts
It is a matter of preference.

I have a 44-cm (c-c) on one bike and also a 42-cm (c-c) on my another. Both bikes are the same manufacturer and set-up.

The 44-cm does provide a more "open" feel and a bit more space on the flat portion of the bar. But it is less aerodynamic. Naturally the bike with 44-cm bar is my leisure riding bike and the 42-cm one is for performance riding.

·
Registered
237 Posts
I am a big-bar convert...

If by "open you up" the fellow means allowing unrestricted rib cage expansion, there could be something to that if you are somewhat constricted, and it is not uncommon.

I think that there are a number of considerations here. Comfort, reach, control, aesthetics, some others. For me, I took the recommedation to try a wider bar, and I like it a lot. I also went with a shorter reach, so my overall position didn't change at all. I like the feeling of control better with the wider bar, especially when cornering, and the wider bars don't bashed on my knees when I am sprinting sloppily.

Try one, you might like it.

hardride27 said:
A friend, who was a very talented racer in his day, suggested going to a wider handelbar to "open me up" a bit.

I'm considering new road bars. I have been using a 42 c-c for a few years. Would a 44 c-c be all that different and or beneficial?

Also wouldn't using a being wider bar create more wind resistence because of a wider arm spread?

·
No Crybabies
11,692 Posts
climbing