Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been getting some speed wobbles lately. It has to be under certain conditions like a head/cross wind while descending down a long and fairly steep straight road. I am usually in the drops and if I hit the brakes to shed speed, my bike starts to wobble. It can be scary. I have a 2005 Specialized S-works bike and all the parts are in great shape. My hubs and headset have no play in them. Got any suggestions? I have changed wheelsets to try and fix this problem, but its still there.

·
tofurkey hunting
4,734 Posts
i'm no expert, but typically....relax. bikes are incredibly stable. you will find many debates about high speed wobble if you search these forums. but mostly, tense hands/arms/rider can help allow this. also, try placing a thigh on the top tube. i even like to "pinch" it with both my thighs/knees.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Speed wobbles

When the speed wobble happens and I try to pinch the top tube with my knees it makes the wobble worse. The only way that I can get the wobble to go away is to let off the brakes and stand up and back off the seat? I am usually very relaxed while descending and very confident.

·
Registered
714 Posts
a pitted headset is a common cause.

to calm the wobbles, weight the pedals, push down, this lowers the center of gravity.
anytime we tense up the tendency is to pull up from the pedals, puttin more weight on the saddle, raising the center of gravity.

Ordinarybikes said: